Merry Christmas


Once again, I would like to thank all those who take the time out of their day to read my blog.  There is so much information and so many different sites out there to visit that I feel very blessed you would choose to read my thoughts whether they be quotes of the day, snarky comments, serious pieces or interesting historical facts.

One such historical fact is that on this day in 1745, Dr. Benjamin Rush was born.  He signed the Declaration of Independence and would go on to teach some 3000 medical students as well as helpt to overhaul mental health treatment in Philadelphia as well as writing the first textbook on mental disorders that would be used for some 70 years.  He would also be the founder or co founder of several different societies as well as a girls school.  During the Yelow Fever epidemic of 1793 he would treat hundreds of patients suffering from disease and would contract himself several times.  In addition to this, he was also a surgeon during the Revolutionary War though only for a short time.  But I digress….

During this time of the year, I would ask that prayers or pleasant thoughts be sent out for those men and women who choose to serve our country and are away from their families during this holiday season.  I would also ask that during your Christmas prayers (should you choose to pray) you take a moment to thank those who took up the mantle of liberty and freedom so that future generations would live better than past generations.

 

2 thoughts on “Merry Christmas

  1. Nicely said!

    Merry Christmas to all of you in Texas and please send our greetings to Stella!

    > WordPress.com > napdirector posted: “https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dAV8cfmawPk Once > again, I would like to thank all those who take the time out of their > day to read my blog. There is so much information and so many > different sites out there to visit that I feel very blessed you would ” >

Comments are closed.